Parenthood: Week one

My little bundle of joy arrived January 25th at 1:26 pm. He weighed 8 pounds and was 21 inches long. His name is Harry Joseph Parsons V, it’s been over a week and only yesterday did we finally agree on JoeJoe as a nickname. He’s healthy, beautiful, and generally perfect in every way.

But parenthood is freaking difficult. I’m tired, no matter how many naps I take. Sleeping when baby is sleeping, it’s not as easy as one would think. But I do my best to sleep as much as possible. Sleep is seriously worth so much. Babies would not be near so difficult if they immediately could sleep through the night. Not even very long, but 4 hours straight would be amazing.People tell you all the time that the first three months are the worst, and it starts right off the bat. Not only are you, as mom, in pain from delivery (whether vaginal or c-section) but you can’t even go home and sleep for three days like you want. Because your little cutie pie has to eat every 2-3 hours. So you’re left to go through life perpetually tired, in slight pain, and mildly befuddled as a result.

Luckily for me my husband was able to be with me during the entire hospital stay, as well as the whole first week here at home. He’s been a servant getting me water, making all the meals and keeping the house from turning into a total disaster.Without him I’m not sure how I would have made it. Even better is that he goes back to work the day after my mom flies in for a week. Help. Help is good. Accept all the help you can, no sense being strong and doing everything yourself if you don’t have to.

So far it’s not so terrible, I have been blessed with a fairly easy infant. He sleeps easily, and really only fusses if we’re changing his diaper or I accidentally sleep through a feeding alarm. (whoops) Which, btw, is something they don’t tell you. I thought baby would wake me up when he was hungry, and he will, but not until he’s a couple weeks old.

I’ve already been peed and pooped on and you would be amazed at how it didn’t phase me. I was amazed that it didn’t bother me. Maybe it’s the sleep deprivation, you don’t have the energy to be grossed out. All in all though, this time is precious and as much as I want to sleep again I am trying to be mindful and enjoy all his newborn antics because I know this is fleeting. Nothing’s better than when he opens his little eyes and peers around, he’s just so cute.

 

 

Leave a Reply

