Being a Daughter After Becoming a Mom

I love my parents. They’re great, a little odd at times sure, but whose parents aren’t? They played games with me, made jokes with me, fed me, clothed me, tried to trick me into eating peas, and somewhere in my childhood I was taught wrong from right and how to say thank you.

After becoming a mom you realize how little information you are given in regards to parenting. Sure you can read books and take a class but really those are only guidelines that cover the basic stuff, those first couple tiers of Maslow’s hierarchy. But once your baby isn’t a baby, and they start needed more than food, shelter and cuddles you’re mostly on your own.

There’s TONS of information out there on everything from time outs to screen time. But how do you instill morals? Or good values? Develop trust? Explain hope?

You guess, you guess really well and hope like hell you get it right. You take a parenting bowl of speghetti and throw everything at the wall and see what sticks. And then you use what sticks to try and raise a human being that’s compassionate, honest, trustworthy, and (insert other positive adjectives here).

That’s stressful. My baby is 9 weeks old and I’m already stressed about it. He just figured out how to hold his head up, and I’m worried about keeping his nose out of the air.

So as a mother I think these things, I think of his health, his life, his future. I hope and pray and do my absolute best to make sure I get this right, because there are no mulligans.

And as a daughter, I have a new respect for my parents. Their ability to raise such a *flawless* person without google, is a feat. I’m aware now of their struggles, their hopes and fears for me and my brother. I appreciate them and what they did now, and it makes me think back to all the times I was just an ungrateful kid and how that must have hurt them. But I think they know now, with my new role, that I understand. That I see all this, I see my childhood, in a whole new light.

Because becoming a parent makes you realize how hard it truly is. Which makes you realize how difficult you were. Which makes you realize how great your parents were, and still are. Because parenting doesn’t stop at 18, once you’re a parent you’re one for life.

Leave a Reply

